1250 point Dark Eldar for Wargamingforfun.com Campaign

Hello again guys,

I am writing about 40k again which I will fully admit is a game that has fallen out of favour with myself in the last few months (basically since I have started playing Hordes) but Ade, Andy and the boys in the campaign are a great bunch and I am really looking forward to a bit of fun.  That said I am quite a competitive person and struggle to play any game with only fun being the goal I do like to play to win and in my opinion that starts with list construction.
A few of the lads playing also have this competitive nature as well so I am of the opinion that all is fair and will by playing all out to win (without being a dick!). In my opinion Dark Eldar (DE) work better in lists of bigger size than what is being played as they are quite expensive and generally require combos to work at their full potential. The other issue with DE is that I believe the only way than can be truly competitive is with spam lists, basically repeating lots of small units to gain access to the most firepower as possible. From experience this works best with Venoms and Ravagers as they really put a lot of shots on the table for a minimal investment in points. Venoms only being 65 points for 12 poisoned 36” range shots is an absolute bargain and the Ravager  at 105 points base (no Nighshields as points are tight) for 3 strength 8 AP 2 lances is hard to look past. So the idea in the list is to maximise the use of these vehicles (I own 4 Venoms and 3 Ravagers) and due to the Venom to get good cost effectiveness out of them. I also cant make a DE list without using 2 units of Reavers, I absolutely love the models and what these guys can do, 2d3 strength 4 and 1d6 strength 6 from each unit turbo boosting over squads I personally think is really helpful and can be 2 scoring units in The Scouring mission. In a game this size I really cant justify the use of Incubi (as much as I do love them) or even the Duke who I would love to take. My sole HQ choice will be a basic Homunculus parked in a Blasterborn squad just to give them Feel No Pain. I have no clue whether or not this is a great plan but I think I can make much better use of the extra 100 points the Duke costs with the additional Ravager in the list.

Here is the list I am considering at the moment

+ HQ + (50pts)

    * Haemonculus (50pts)
       (Altered Physique, Independent Character, Night Vision, Power from Pain)
       * Haemonculus (50pts)
           Close Combat Weapon, Splinter Pistol

+ Elites + (291pts)

    * Kabalite Trueborn (158pts)
       (Fleet, Night Vision, Power from Pain)
       * 4x Trueborn (93pts)
           3x Blaster (45pts)
       * Venom (65pts)
           Flickerfield, Splinter Cannon (10pts)

    * Kabalite Trueborn (133pts)
       (Fleet, Night Vision, Power from Pain)
       * 4x Trueborn (68pts)
           2x Splinter Cannon (20pts), 2x Splinter Rifle
       * Venom (65pts)
           Flickerfield, Splinter Cannon (10pts)

+ Troops + (421pts)

    * Kabalite Warriors (135pts)
       (Fleet, Night Vision, Power from Pain)
       * 4x Kabalite Warrior (36pts)
           4x Splinter Rifle
       * Kabalite Warrior with assault weapon (24pts)
           Blaster (15pts)
       * Venom (75pts)
           Flickerfield, Nightshield (10pts), Splinter Cannon (10pts)

    * Kabalite Warriors (135pts)
       (Fleet, Night Vision, Power from Pain)
       * 4x Kabalite Warrior (36pts)
           4x Splinter Rifle
       * Kabalite Warrior with assault weapon (24pts)
           Blaster (15pts)
       * Venom (75pts)
           Flickerfield, Nightshield (10pts), Splinter Cannon (10pts)

    * Kabalite Warriors (151pts)
       (Fleet, Night Vision, Power from Pain)
       * 9x Kabalite Warrior (81pts)
           9x Splinter Rifle
       * Raider (70pts)
           Dark Lance, Splinter Racks (10pts)

+ Fast Attack + (172pts)

    * Reaver Jetbikes (86pts)
       (Fleet, Night Vision, Power from Pain, Skilled Riders)
       Cluster catrops (20pts), 3x Jetbikes (66pts)

    * Reaver Jetbikes (86pts)
       (Fleet, Night Vision, Power from Pain, Skilled Riders)
       Cluster catrops (20pts), 3x Jetbikes (66pts)

+ Heavy Support + (315pts)

    * Ravager (105pts)
       (Aerial Assault, Night Vision)
       Dark Lance, Dark Lance, Dark Lance

    * Ravager (105pts)
       (Aerial Assault, Night Vision)
       Dark Lance, Dark Lance, Dark Lance
    * Ravager (105pts)
       (Aerial Assault, Night Vision)
       Dark Lance, Dark Lance, Dark Lance

This I believe is one of the most points effective DE lists I can make.  I could (and this would be truly gutting for me) drop the 2 units of Reavers and do another 9 man Kabalite Warrior squad in a Raider.  This would give me 11 Dark Lances in the list and 5 Blasters so enemy vehicles should not be too much of a problem to deal with. I am a fan of the Venom and Splinterborn as this little unit can pump out 36 shots quite reliably and on average should force 12 armour rolls from an opponent which really can cause problems. My general tactics is an alpha strike and get the first blood (hopefully I get initiative..or have good scenery on table). I will usually try and target a smallish unit ie pathfinders or a combat squad for this, occasionally it will be a vehicle that the Ravagers can all zone in on. After the first kill I concentrate fire on 1 target until it is wiped out or has been dwindled down to a point I think it is ineffective then move on to another target. So if necessary I could put 57 Splinter rounds into a unit at 24” range and 9 of them with rerolls to hit. This would probably be over kill on most units but the option is there. The Reavers are there to turbo boost over a dwindled unit to finish it off and gain a pain token, they can also be used as a good distraction unit to just get in the way and for contesting objectives late in the game.

I personally don’t find this the most exciting list ever as it basically is just the same unit repeated but with the limitations of close combat in 6th edition and only being able to disembark a vehicle after a measly 6” move I really can’t justify bringing many of the other units. I do field 5 man Wych squads with Haywire grenades in a Venom on occasion but I think this list has enough anti tank in it already. Wyches are also surprisingly good at tying up Riptides in close combat with their 4+ invulnerable saves they can hold it up a couple of turns (I have killed on once…definitely luck there). Incubi are awesome when they get stuck in AP2 swords are brilliant but they are far to pricey points wise to risk them getting shot up by overwatch or in your opponents next turn after you wipe out the squad on the charge (this happens all the time).

I really love Scourges and they are far and away the best looking models GW produce but they just are not efficient at all and get shot to crap as soon as they move into range. I have run them with Blasters, Heat Lances and Haywire Launchers which are all really effective at killing a vehicle  but unless you get them into cover (always recommended I know) they will die in the subsequent turn.

Wracks are really cool and I think they are a valid option in any army list and have used them effectively but I think that you get more work done with the Kabalites personally.

If anyone can come up with a better/more interesting list for this points level I would really appreciate the input as I am struggling with it at the moment.

Thanks for reading

Matt

Posted on January 29, 2014, in Ogre Kingdoms. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Wazzas Hobbies - my three blogs

Scotty Wazza's ramblings about wargaming, remote control cars and life!

Dagger and Brush, Daggerandbrush, dagger brush

Miniature painting, wargaming terrain tutorials, reviews, interviews and painting guides

Gaming Grounds

Defy The Meta

Justin Drawing Dead

Just a nice walk in Khemri

